Mycelium Running by EMU, scored by Tina Pearson (2015)

Mycelium Running is a multi-movement sonic study of fungi. The piece references Paul Stamets’ book of the same title, particularly its description of the life cycle and anatomy of mushrooms. The score’s movements seamlessly reflect aspects of a mushroom’s stages of development: Hymenium, Basidia, Spores, External forces (Moisture, Temperature and Nutrients), Hyphae, Mycelium Mat, Primordium and the fruiting of the Mushroom. The end of the piece traces the return of the mushroom to the earth. Rather than try to simply sonically translate visual information, Pearson’s scoring for the piece includes instructions such as: “Basidia (bass): imagine your ancestral languages—layered utterance”, thus eliciting a complex and studied response from the group.


from Music for Mycologists, released June 6, 2015


all rights reserved



Experimental Music Unit Victoria, British Columbia

Experimental Music Unit is a sound ensemble from Victoria British Columbia featuring Tina Pearson (flute, accordion, voice and percussion); George Tzanetakis (clarinets and saxophones) and Paul Walde (bass guitar and percussion). Music for Mycologists is their debut release. ... more

contact / help

Contact Experimental Music Unit

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like Experimental Music Unit, you may also like: